Wrestling’s Mocco, O’Toole And Surtin Earn Academic All-District

COLUMBIA, Mo. – Three University of Missouri wrestlers earned Academic All-District honors from College Sports Communicators (CSC) on Tuesday, June 25. Redshirt senior Peyton Mocco, redshirt junior Noah Surtin and junior Keegan O’Toole all received the honor for the second consecutive year.

The 2024 Academic All-District® At-Large Team, selected by CSC, recognizes the nation’s top student-athletes for their combined performances on the field and in the classroom.

Finishing his final season with a 12-8 record, Mocco totaled nine bonus-point victories and matched a career season-high of three technical falls. The redshirt senior finished sixth at the Big 12 Championship to qualify for the NCAA tournament for the fifth time in his career. Moreover, he was named an NWCA Scholar All-American and the recipient of the team’s Ed Lampitt Total Tiger Award, given to the wrestler who is a leader both on and off the mat.

Surtin closed out his redshirt junior season, going 15-6, alongside a 10-2 dual mark. The Edwardsville, Illinois native totaled 11 bonus-point wins and topped five ranked wrestlers. The NWCA Scholar All-American placed sixth at the Big 12 conference tournament, qualifying for the NCAA Championship for the fourth time in his career.

O’Toole, a dynamic presence on the mat, demonstrated his prowess with a 24-1 overall record and 15 wins via bonus points. His 10 falls led the team, and his three falls at the national championship earned him the prestigious Gorrarian Award for most falls in the tournament. O’Toole’s victory at the Big 12 Tournament at 165 pounds and his third-place finish in the 165 bracket earned him his fourth NCAA All-American honors.

Academic All-District® honorees advance to the CSC Academic All-America® ballot, with first-, second- and third-team Academic All-America® honorees being announced in June.


Visit MUTigers.com for the latest information on all things Mizzou Wrestling. You can also find the Tigers on social media by liking us on Facebook and following us on Twitter and Instagram.

This article is provided by University of Missouri Athletics
WP Twitter Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com