Drinkwitz A Finalist For Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Award

DALLAS – University of Missouri football head coach Eliah Drinkwitz was named one of 12 finalists for the 2023 Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Award, the Football Writers Association of America, in conjunction with the Allstate Sugar Bowl, announced Tuesday.

This the second finalist nod for Coach Drinkwitz, who earned his previous nomination in 2019 while at App State. Drinkwitz has Missouri at 10-2 heading into the postseason, only the sixth time for the Tigers to achieve 10 wins during the regular season. Seven of Missouri’s wins have been by double-digit margins. The Tigers had their best scoring output since 2020 in their most recent game, a 48-14 blasting of Arkansas two weeks ago. 

Missouri, runner-up to Georgia in the SEC East, has yet to trail at the half this season. The Tigers have never had an Eddie Robinson Award winner but have previous finalists in Gary Pinkel (2013 and ’07) and Larry Smith (1998).

Along with Drinkwitz, the finalists are David Braun of Northwestern; Jamey Chadwell of Liberty; Kalen DeBoer of Washington; Jedd Fisch of Arizona; Rhett Lashlee of SMU; Chuck Martin of Miami (Ohio); Mike Norvell of Florida State; Barry Odom of UNLV; Nick Saban of Alabama; Steve Sarkisian of Texas; and Jon Sumrall of Troy. 

The 12 finalists have been placed on a ballot which has been sent to the entire FWAA membership today. The 2023 recipient will be announced on Wed., Dec. 20. The official presentation will be at a reception Sat., Jan. 6, 2024, in Houston, the site of the College Football Playoff National Championship.

The FWAA has presented a coaching award since the 1957 season when Ohio State’s Woody Hayes was named the first recipient. In 1997, the FWAA coaching award was named after the late Robinson, a coaching legend at Grambling State University for 55 seasons.

No. 9 Missouri (10-2) continues its 2023 season against No. 7 Ohio State in the 88th Goodyear Cotton Bowl Classic on Friday, Dec. 29 at AT&T Stadium in Arlington, Texas. Kickoff is slated for 7 p.m. CT with ESPN and Tiger Radio Network providing coverage.

2023 Eddie Robinson Award Finalists
David Braun, Northwestern
Jamey Chadwell, Liberty
Kalen DeBoer, Washington
Eliah Drinkwitz, Missouri
Jedd Fisch, Arizona
Rhett Lashlee, SMU
Chuck Martin, Miami (Ohio)
Mike Norvell, Florida State
Barry Odom, UNLV
Nick Saban Alabama
Steve Sarkisian, Texas
Jon Sumrall, Troy

For all the latest information on Mizzou Athletics, please visit MUTigers.com. For up-to-the-minute updates, follow Missouri football (@MizzouFootball) and Coach Drinkwitz (@CoachDrinkwitz) on X. You can also find the Tigers on Instagram and Facebook.

This article is provided by University of Missouri Athletics
WP Twitter Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com