Three Panthers advance to second day of Midwest Classic at Indianapolis

SPRINGFIELD, Mo.–  Three Drury wrestlers advanced to the second day of competition at the 43rd Annual Midwest Classic hosted by the University of Indianapolis on Saturday.
Caden Howard and Will Kuster are still alive in the consolation brackets, while Peter Kuster is in the semifinals of the 141-pound weight class.
Peter Kuster, a senior from Jefferson City, won his opening round match on Saturday with a 10-0 Major Decision over Joshua Kincaid from Emmanuel, then defeated Josh Blatt from Newberry, 9-2. Kuster won his third match of the day with a 6-3 win over rival Nate Keim from Central Oklahoma. The two nationally-ranked wrestlers have met three times already this season, with Kuster winning all three. Kuster will start Sunday in a semifinal round match-up.
Caden Howard went 3-1 on Saturday, competing at 125 pounds. The sophomore from Lenexa, Kansas, got a first round win with a 6-3 decision over Elijah Boyd from Belmont Abbey, then lost in round two to Brendon Garcia from Adams State, 12-3. Howard then rebounded with back-to-back wins in the consolation rounds. He pinned Noah Cantu from Indianapolis in 4:25, then picked up a 10-2 Major Decision victory against Tyler Masters from Ashland.
Will Kuster also went 3-1 on Saturday in the 165-pound class. Kuster, a sophomore from Jefferson City, won by Technical Fall with a 16-0 lead over Anthony Goezler from Limestone. Kuster was edged in the second round by Indianapolis’ Jack Eiteljorge 6-4 in overtime but stayed alive with a win by Fall over Kane Kettering from Seton Hill (3:47) and a 9-2 decision against Jacob Potok from Lake Erie. 
“It’s a long first day of wrestling and we punched through three really tough guys,” said Drury head coach James Reynolds. “Tomorrow will be another day of great wrestling and I know Caden, Peter and Will are going to continue bringing their very best. The rest of the team needed to see this level of competition and will certainly learn from the experience.”
The Midwest Classic is regarded as the most competitive tournament of the season in NCAA-II as it features 46 teams, 17 nationally-ranked squads, 76 nationally-ranked wrestlers, including five ranked number one in their weight class.
The second day of the event starts at 9:30 am on Sunday.


Caden Howard (10-5)

  • Champ. Round 1 – Caden Howard (Drury) 10-5 won by decision over Elijah Boyd (Belmont Abbey) 4-2 (Dec 6-3)
  • Champ. Round 2 – Brendon Garcia (Adams State) 4-2 won by major decision over Caden Howard (Drury) 10-5 (MD 12-3)
  • Cons. Round 2 – Caden Howard (Drury) 10-5 won by fall over Noah Cantu (Indianapolis) 4-6 (Fall 4:25)
  • Cons. Round 3 – Caden Howard (Drury) 10-5 won by major decision over Tyler Masters (Ashland) 7-7 (MD 10-2)


Jackson Caswell (9-6)

  • Prelim – Jackson Caswell (Drury) 9-6 won by fall over Andrew Overbay (Lincoln Memorial) 2-7 (Fall 1:54)
  • Prelim – Jackson Caswell (Drury) 9-6 won by tech fall over Brandon Dasen (Coker) 9-9 (TF-1.5 3:16 (16-0))
  • Champ. Round 1 – Reece Barnhardt (Mary) 13-3 won by fall over Jackson Caswell (Drury) 9-6 (Fall 2:53)
  • Cons. Round 1 – Ben Fielding (Belmont Abbey) 8-6 won by decision over Jackson Caswell (Drury) 9-6 (Dec 8-2)


Peter Kuster (8-0) placed 6th and scored 10.0 team points.

  • Champ. Round 1 – Peter Kuster (Drury) 8-0 won by major decision over Joshua Kincaid (Emmanuel) 8-8 (MD 10-0)
  • Champ. Round 2 – Peter Kuster (Drury) 8-0 won by decision over Josh Blatt (Newberry) 2-2 (Dec 9-2)
  • Quarterfinal – Peter Kuster (Drury) 8-0 won by decision over Nate Keim (Central Oklahoma) 5-4 (Dec 6-3)


Trevor Christian (0-5)

  • Champ. Round 1 – Dallas Wilson (Mount Olive) 14-1 won by major decision over Trevor Christian (Drury) 0-5 (MD 11-3)
  • Cons. Round 1 – Alex Dilegge (Limestone) 16-7 won by fall over Trevor Christian (Drury) 0-5 (Fall 3:37)


Jon O`Connell (7-7)

  • Prelim – Jon O`Connell (Drury) 7-7 won by fall over Chase Moore (Findlay) 0-2 (Fall 1:44)
  • Champ. Round 1 – Sean Howk (Southwest Minnesota State) 11-4 won by decision over Jon O`Connell (Drury) 7-7 (Dec 3-2)
  • Cons. Round 1 – Luke Ebers (Maryville) 7-9 won by decision over Jon O`Connell (Drury) 7-7 (Dec 6-5)


Will Kuster (9-3)

  • Champ. Round 1 – Will Kuster (Drury) 9-3 won by tech fall over Anthony Goelzer (Limestone) 2-10 (TF-1.5 1:31 (16-0))
  • Champ. Round 2 – Jack Eiteljorge (Indianapolis) 8-0 won in sudden victory – 1 over Will Kuster (Drury) 9-3 (SV-1 6-4)
  • Cons. Round 2 – Will Kuster (Drury) 9-3 won by fall over Kane Kettering (Seton Hill) 4-9 (Fall 3:47)
  • Cons. Round 3 – Will Kuster (Drury) 9-3 won by decision over Jacob Potok (Lake Erie) 9-6 (Dec 9-2)


Ethan Smith (4-4)

  • Prelim – Crosby Schlosser (UW-Parkside) 2-2 won by decision over Ethan Smith (Drury) 4-4 (Dec 9-4)
  • Prelim – Owen Butler (Indianapolis) 11-7 won by decision over Ethan Smith (Drury) 4-4 (Dec 3-2)


B.K. Seago (3-5)

  • Champ. Round 1 – Anthony Yacovetti (Lander) 4-1 won by tech fall over B.K. Seago (Drury) 3-5 (TF-1.5 6:21 (17-2))
  • Cons. Round 1 – Trent Strong (Central Missouri) 6-10 won by decision over B.K. Seago (Drury) 3-5 (Dec 5-2)


Thomas Massengale (3-6)

  • Prelim – Ely Reese (Gannon) 5-5 won by fall over Thomas Massengale (Drury) 3-6 (Fall 4:02)
  • Champ. Round 1 – Ryan Herman (Maryville) 10-6 won by decision over Thomas Massengale (Drury) 3-6 (Dec 2-0)


This article is provided by Drury University Athletics
WP Twitter Auto Publish Powered By :

Jock MVP Club

Signup form

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.