Shelley Named Valley Offensive Player of the Year

MVFC Release | Bears Playoff Tickets
ST. LOUIS – Missouri State quarterback Jason Shelley (Frisco, Texas) was announced Wednesday (Nov. 24) as the Missouri Valley Football Conference Offensive Player of the Year as well as the league’s Newcomer of the Year.
A transfer from Utah State, Shelley has guided the Bears to their second straight NCAA FCS Playoff berth, an 8-3 regular season, and a second-place finish in the rugged Missouri Valley Football Conference (6-2). MoState is also unbeaten at home this fall (5-0) with a national ranking of 10 in this week’s AFCA FCS Top 25 poll.
Shelley has shattered the Missouri State single-season records for passing yards (3,068) and total offense (3,417) during the 2021 campaign while ranking eighth in the nation in yards per completion (14.4), eighth in yards per attempt (8.57), 10th in total offense (310.3), 11th in passing yards (3,068), 13th in points responsible (176), 14th in passing yards per game (278.9) and 23rd in rushing touchdowns (10).
He has completed 213 of 358 pass attempts on the season (.595) with 19 touchdowns and just six interceptions. He has also rushed for 349 yards and 10 touchdowns.
Shelley, who will have one more season of eligibility next season for the Bears, is the 21st MVFC player to throw for 3,000 yards in a season, but the first Bear to do so. He currently ranks 19th on the league’s single-season passing chart, which includes such names as Sean Payton and Carson Wentz. He is currently 14th on the Valley’s single-season total offense rankings.
He joins Keith Williams (RB, 1985) and DeAndre Smith (QB, 1989 and 1990) as the only other Missouri State players to earn MVFC Offensive Player of the Year honors. Likewise, he is just the third MSU player to claim Valley Newcomer of the Year distinction, joining the ranks of former Bears Jason Cannon (WR, 1995) and Antoine Wilkinson (LB, 2009).
Shelley was announced earlier this week as one of 25 finalists for the Walter Payton Award, presented annually to the top offensive player in the NCAA FCS ranks.

Also honored on Wednesday were MVFC Defensive Player of the Year Jared Brinkman (UNI), Freshman of the Year Demeatric Crenshaw (Youngstown State), and Coach of the Year Matt Entz (North Dakota State).

He and the Bears are preparing for Saturday’s home showdown against UT Martin in the NCAA FCS Playoffs at Robert W. Plaster Stadium (3 p.m.). Playoff tickets are available 24/7 at or starting at 10 a.m. on Saturday at the stadium box office. Fans are encouraged to purchase their playoff tickets in advance.



This article is provided by Missouri State