Mizzou Wraps Up Play at SEC Match Play Championships

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. – The Mizzou Men’s Golf team concluded play at the SEC Match Play Championships at Shoal Creek Golf Course on Tuesday. Over the last three days the Tigers played in four matches against conference foes, totaling 7.5 points in the inaugural event.

Leading the way for the Tigers over the weekend was sophomore Jack Lundin who went 3-0-1 and totaled 18 birdies. Lundin’s best performance came on Tuesday in his final match against Mississippi State with a 5-under 63 in 17 holes.  As a team Mizzou dropped its opening match to Tennessee 4-1 before bouncing back in pool play with a 4-1 victory over Auburn. Rounding out match play the Tigers fell in a tightly contested match-up with Kentucky 3.5-1.5 prior to a 4-1 loss against Mississippi State.

The Tigers have a weekend off of competition before concluding the fall schedule, Oct. 29-31 at the Steelwood Collegiate Invitational in Mobile, Ala. It will be the fifth and final tournament in the fall before Mizzou begins play, Feb. 12-13 at the Florida Gator Invitational.

Individual Records at SEC Match Play:
Jack Parker – 2-2
Jack Lundin – 3-0-1
Yu Ta Tsai – 1-3
Charlie Crockett – 1-3
Dagbjartur Sigurbrandsson – 0-3

SEC East Round #1 – MIZZOU 1, Tennessee 3
Jack Lundin defeated Bryce Lewis (1 UP)
Tyler Johnson defeated Charlie Crockett (2&1)
Spencer Cross defeated Yu Ta Tsai (5&4)
Cade Russell defeated Jack Parker (1 UP)
Hunter Walcott defeated Dagbjartur Sigurbrandsson

Pool Play: MIZZOU 4, Auburn 1
Jack Parker defeated JM Butler (3&2)
Jack Lundin defeated Austin Coggin (3&2)
Yu Ta Tsai defeated CJ Easley (1 UP)
Charlie Crockett defeated Carson Bacha (1 UP)
Alex Vogelsong defeated Dagbjartur Sigurbrandsson (3&2)

Pool Play: MIZZOU 1.5, Kentucky 3.5
Jack Parker defeated Cooper Parks (3&2)
Jack Lundin halved Hugo Archer
Campbell Kremer defeated Yu Ta Tsai (2&1)
Zach Norris defeated Charlie Crockett (2&1)
Jacob Cook defeated Dagbjartur Sigurbrandsson (2&1)

Pool Play: MIZZOU 1, Mississippi State 4
Jack Lundin defeated Hunter Logan (3&1)
Pedro Cruz Silva defeated Jack Parker (2&1)
Loic Ettlin defeated Yu Ta Tsai (1 UP)
Ford Clegg defeated Charlie Crockett (2&1)
Jay Nimmo defeated Dagbjartur Sigurbrandsson (1 UP)

For all the latest information on Mizzou Athletics, please visit MUTigers.com. For up-to-the-minute updates, follow the Tigers on Twitter, Instagram and Facebook.


This article is provided by University of Missouri Athletics