Frank, Pickett to Represent Mizzou at SEC Basketball Leadership Council

BIRMINGHAM, ALA. – Mizzou Men’s and Women’s Basketball student-athletes Javon Pickett and Hayley Frank will represent Mizzou for the annual Southeastern Conference Men’s and Women’s Basketball Leadership Council on Thursday, conducting the gathering in a virtual format.

The council consists of one male representative and one female representative form each of the SEC’s 14 institutions. The goal of the leadership council is for student-athletes to serve as a conduit of communication from their teams to the conference on issues related to student-athlete experience, student-athlete wellness, and to provide feedback on proposed rules governing the SEC and NCAA.

The Men’s Basketball Leadership Council and the Women’s Basketball Leadership Council comprise two components of the SEC Student-Athlete Leadership Council. The third component is the Football Leadership Council, which meets each January. 

Pickett enters the 2021-22 season as the lone senior on the men’s basketball team, coming off a solid junior campaign. Pickett was Mizzou’s go-to Sixth Man, appearing in all 26 games where he averaged 6.2 points and 2.3 rebounds per game. He has been a consistent performer for the Tigers, scoring in double-figures seven times and grabbing at least three rebounds 12 times.

Frank appeared and started in all 20 games last season for the Tigers, averaging 12.7 points, 5.0 rebounds and 1.4 assists. The Strafford, Mo., native shot the basketball at an incredibly high level, shooting 53.3 percent from the field, 45.1 percent from three and 87.0 percent from the free-throw line.

The student-athletes who serve on the SEC Men’s and Women’s Basketball Leadership Council are:

Men’s Basketball

Tyler Barnes, Alabama

Stanley Umude, Arkansas

Babatunde Akingbola, Auburn

Anthony Duruji, Florida

Jabri Abdur-Rahim, Georgia

Keion Brooks, Kentucky

Spencer Mays, LSU

Austin Crowley, Ole Miss

Iverson Molinar, Mississippi State

Javon Pickett, Missouri

Chico Carter, South Carolina

John Fulkerson, Tennessee

Henry Coleman III, Texas A&M

Quentin Millora-Brown, Vanderbilt

Women’s Basketball

Megan Abrams, Alabama

Rylee Langerman, Arkansas

Kiyae’ White, Auburn

Zippy Broughton, Florida

Mikayla Coombs, Georgia

Blair Green, Kentucky

Emily Ward, LSU

Donnetta Johnson, Ole Miss

Myah Taylor, Mississippi State

Haley Frank, Missouri

Laeticia Amihere, South Carolina

Tamari Key, Tennessee

Qadashah Hoppie, Texas A&M

Jordyn Cambridge, Vanderbilt

This article is provided by University of Missouri Athletics