Alldredge, Jeffcoat Named to Bronko Nagurski Trophy Watch List

Columbia, Mo. – Mizzou graduate linebacker Blaze Alldredge and redshirt junior defensive lineman Trajan Jeffcoat earned spots on the Bronko Nagurski Trophy Watch List, presented annually to college football’s defensive player of the year, it was announced on Tuesday.

Alldredge, named to the Butkus Award Watch List on Monday, was a two-time George Martin Award winner as team MVP during his seasons at Rice. He is a two-time Conference-USA coaches first-team all-league selection (2019, 2020) and graded as Rice’s top pass rusher in 2020 (69.4).

In his first season with the Tigers, Alldredge is pursuing a master’s degree in positive coaching at Mizzou. He earned his undergraduate degree in political science from Rice in Spring 2021. He is a three-time C-USA All-Academic selection.

Jeffcoat, named a preseason All-Southeastern Conference selection by the league’s media on Friday, was a 2020 first-team All-SEC selection by the Associated Press and the league’s coaches. His breakout season included 6.0 sacks, 18 tackles, seven quarterback hurries and one forced fumble. Jeffcoat’s 6.0 sacks ranked second in the SEC and were the most by a Tiger defensive end since Charles Harris recorded 9.0 in 2016. He was also a member of the SEC Academic Honor Roll.

Last week, Jeffcoat was named to the Bednarik Award Watch List, quarterback Connor Bazelak was named to the Davey O’Brien Award Watch List, running back Tyler Badie was named to the Doak Walker Award Watch List and Michael Maietti was named to the Rimington Trophy Watch List. Badie is also an AFCA Good Works Team nominee.

Commit to the #NewZou, season tickets and renewals for the 2021 Mizzou Football season are now on sale. For more information, visit or call 1-800-CAT-PAWS. For all the latest on Mizzou Football, stay tuned to and follow the team on Twitter (@MizzouFootball) and like the team on Facebook and Instagram.

This article is provided by University of Missouri Athletics