Photo Credit: Missouri State Athletics

Agugua-Hamilton Revealed as a Finalist for WBCA Coach of the Year

By: Ben Adamson

ATLANTA – The Women’s Basketball Coaches Association announced Wednesday the finalists and winner of the 2021 United States Marine Corps/WBCA NCAA Division I National Coach of the Year award, with Missouri State’s Amaka Agugua-Hamilton one of 10 head coaches to make the list.

Agugua-Hamilton, the 2020 and 2021 Missouri Valley Conference Coach of the Year and 2020 WBCA Spalding Maggie Dixon Rookie Coach of the Year winner, made the select group of finalists, while North Carolina State’s Wes Moore was the winner.

In year two under “Coach Mox”, the Lady Bears are 22-2 entering Wednesday’s NCAA Second Round game with Wright State and tied the highest seed in program history as a No. 5 in this year’s bracket.

Missouri State recorded the program’s first ever unbeaten conference (16-0) and road (11-0) records this season and has been ranked in every Coaches Poll and 13 weeks by the AP.

The MSU defense is having a historic season at 56.6 points allowed on average, on pace for second in school history. The Lady Bears also feature the MVC Player of the Year in Brice Calip and Defensive Player of the Year in Jasmine Franklin.

WBCA NCAA Division I National Coach of the Year Finalists

Amaka Agugua-Hamilton, Missouri State

Adia Barnes, Arizona

Cori Close, UCLA

Jose Fernandez, South Florida

Brenda Frese, Maryland

Wes Moore, North Carolina State

Kim Mulkey, Baylor

Dawn Staley, South Carolina

Joni Taylor, Georgia

Jeff Walz, Louisville

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.